England: Charlie Dean chooses NOT to ‘Mankad’ a batter, one day after India got her out the same way
England all-rounder Charlie Dean responded brilliantly to India’s controversial ‘Mankad’ dismissal which left her in tears.
On Saturday, with England needing 17 to win the third and final one-day international series against India, away bowler Deepti Sharma ran out the 21-year-old at the non-striker’s end to take the series 3-0 at Lord’s in controversial circumstances.
But Dean, left in tears by the incident, has reacted with good humour – refusing to ‘Mankad’ Northern Diamonds opening batter Linsey Smith while representing Southern Vipers in the Rachel Heyhoe Flint Trophy final, also at Lord’s, on Sunday.
England all-rounder Charlie Dean (right) responded brilliantly on Sunday to India’s controversial ‘Mankad’ dismissal which had left her in tears at Lord’s just one day earlier
Dean (left), stopped in her run-up but did not ‘Mankad’, instead sportingly warning the batter
Video footage released on Twitter shows the 21-year-old, bowling to Lauren Winfield-Hill, stop at the end of her run-up, catching Smith by surprise, who was forced to quickly put her leg back in her crease.
However, unlike Sharma, Dean had no intention of trying to run her opponent out, instead using the opportunity to warn the batter about walking too far down the wicket.
In the clip, posted by Sky commentator Charles Dagnall with the caption: ‘Charlie Dean today. Brought a smile to the face this did’, Dean smiles as she walks away, pointing back at Smith in a fine show of sportsmanship.
Although a legal dismissal and totally within the rules, some believe it is contrary to the spirit of the game, with presenter Piers Morgan leading the online outcry after Saturday’s game.
India bowler Deepti Sharma (right) controversially ran out Charlie Dean at the non-striker’s end in the third ODI on Saturday, with India winning the series 3-0 as a result of the wicket
Piers Morgan led the criticism on social media into India’s ‘Mankad’ which sealed the win
He said: ‘Absolutely pathetic way to “win” a cricket match. The whole India team should be ashamed of themselves.’
Fans quickly took to social media to praise Dean for her classy reaction, with one saying: ‘Good reaction from Charlie Dean. It’s a divisive issue certainly but healthier to react with humour than excessive indignation and recriminations.’
Another added: ‘Fair play to her!’, with a third posting: ‘For all the talk of yesterday. The right reaction’ with a laughing emoji. One simply said: ‘Dean is a legend’, while a fifth simply tweeted: ‘Outstanding.’
An account appearing to belong to an India fan concluded: ‘This is the spirit of cricket’, with a fire emoji.
Fans quickly took to social media to praise Dean for reacting to the incident with good humour
England had struggled in their run chase of 170 to win the third ODI but were rebuilding well with a 10th-wicket partnership of 35 between Dean and Freya Davies.
With the duo going well and 39 balls remaining, it seemed England could recover to record an impressive victory over an Indian side that had already won the series.
But with Davies on strike, Sharma ran in as if to bowl before stopping during her run-up to controversially run Dean out. The action resulted in boos around the ground and Dean was left tearful as India celebrated.
Several cricket stars had their say on the matter, including England men’s bowler Stuart Broad, who tweeted: ‘I personally wouldn’t like to win a match like that.’
Dean was left in tears and had to be consoled by team-mate Freya Davies (right) on the field
Dean was eventually all smiles again and was consoled again by head coach Lisa Keightley
His views were echoed by wicketkeeper Sam Billings, who posted: ‘There’s surely not a person who has played the game that thinks this is acceptable. Just not cricket.’
Billings then posted a still image of the controversial moment, with the caption: ‘Not even looking at the other end in delivery stride.’
England’s all-time leading wicket taker in Test cricket James Anderson replied to Billings’ first comment: ‘Spot on. No intention of bowling the ball.’
Alex Hales, who has recently been recalled to the England team after a three-year hiatus, however, said: ‘It shouldn’t be difficult for the non-striker to stay in their crease til the ball has left the hand.’
England wicketkeeper Sam Billings claimed it wasn’t right and said it was ‘just not cricket’
His England team-mates Jimmy Anderson and Alex Hales replied to Billings’ social media post
Sharma’s teammate Harmanpreet Kaur, when interviewed after the match, said: ‘It’s part of the game. We have not done anything new.
‘It is part of the ICC rules and it just shows your awareness. I will back my players and at the end of the day, a win is a win.’
There was seemingly no warning from Sharma or the umpire about Dean leaving the crease early. Images also show Dean was in her crease until moments before the bails were taken off, seemingly not attempting to gain an advantage.
The laws were recently changed the state the bowler had to be in their run-up to run a non-striker out before the ball was bowled, after several controversial incidents.
Denial of responsibility! planetcirculate is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.