Look out for NEW WhatsApp alert – it means you’ve made a big mistake


A NEW WhatsApp pop-up will block you from taking screenshots of View Once messages.

It means you’ve tried to do something that will soon no longer be allowed on WhatsApp.

1

Screenshot blocking is part of a trio of new changes coming to WhatsAppCredit: WhatsApp

The new app change is expected to roll out soon.

It was announced earlier this month by Meta and WhatsApp boss Mark Zuckerberg, as part of a trio of new features.

And it’s designed to prevent users from taking screenshots of messages that were intended to disappear.

The pop-up will say: “Screenshot was blocked for added privacy.”

New WhatsApp hack lets you recover DELETED texts – but there's a catch
I'm a WhatsApp sleuth – here are NINE top-secret changes coming to the app

As revealed by WABetaInfo, the View Once feature will warn: “This is a View Once photo so it’s more private.

“It will disappear from the chat after you close it.

“Also, you can’t share, forward, copy, save, or take a screenshot of it.”

Sadly, the feature isn’t completely watertight, as recently revealed by The Sun.

A rogue chatter could simply use another device to take a photo or video of the screen.

There’s no way for WhatsApp to stop this.

As always, the best advice is to be very careful with what you share online.

If you don’t want something being on the internet or shared around, avoid sending it to anyone.

Even people you trust now might not be so loyal in the future.

And someone might save an image and then end up being hacked themselves.

Blocking screenshots on disappearing messages adds a significant extra layer of security.

But you can’t rely entirely on it – so always be cautious with who you’re sending images, videos or even texts to.

If an image is extremely sensitive, consider showing the person in real life or finding a more secure way to get your message across.

Nevertheless, it’s still a good idea to use View Once where you can, as it’s better than leaving an image out in the open forever.

“View Once is already an incredibly popular way to share photos or media that don’t need to have a permanent digital record,” WhatsApp explained in a new blog post.

Why you should NEVER wear flip flops or sandals on a plane
We're disgusted after AA left us stranded for 24 hours - it was ridiculous

“Now we’re enabling screenshot blocking for View Once messages for an added layer of protection.”

The feature is currently in testing, and WhatsApp says it will “roll out soon”.

Best Phone and Gadget tips and hacks

Looking for tips and hacks for your phone? Want to find those secret features within social media apps? We have you covered…

Get all the latest WhatsApp, Instagram, Facebook and other tech gadget stories here.


We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online Tech & Science team? Email us at [email protected]






Source link

Denial of responsibility! planetcirculate is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.